AGMP Concerts are proud to announce the very first HOOK & SLING festival of the finest Funk, Soul & Breaks in the centre of London at 229 The Venue

21,22 & 23 July 2017.

30+ Bands & DJ’s / 2 Rooms / Many artists are appearing as either Worldwide or European Exclusives – This is not an event to miss if you love Funk & Soul music.

Tickets available… CLICK HERE

FRIDAY 21 JULY –  TICKET £30 + £1.50 Booking Fee

SATURDAY 22 JULY – TICKET £30 + £1.50 Booking Fee

SUNDAY 23 JULY – TICKET £30 + £1.50 Booking Fee

WEEKEND TICKET £85 + £3.50 Booking Fee (Valid for all three days)

+ Speedometer, DJ Format, Push, DJ Oneofakind, Snowboy, Perry Louis, Athens of the North DJs, Funk E Fish, Big Daddy Mooching

+ Music Man Miles (Breakestra), Frank Raines (Funk Night Records), Nick Pride & The Pimptones, Eddie Piller, The Getup, Liam Bailey, Ria Currie, Greg Belson, DJ Rainer, Crowd Company

+ Emil Carter from Mickey and The Soul Generation, Funkshone, Greg Belson, Snowboy, Perry Louis, Ultimate Breaks and Beats, Disposable Breaks

**EUROPEAN EXCLUSIVE** – Syl Johnson flies in with his band from Chicago to perform this European Exclusive show. Syl’s biggest hit was 1969’s “Is it Because I’m Black?” but 1967’s “Different Strokes” is a breakbeat anthem and has been sampled by Public Enemy, Wu-Tang Clan and more. In the 1970’s Syl released a series of great albums on Willie Mitchell’s Hi Records label.

**WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE** – The Poets of Rhythm are the Godfathers of the Deep Funk Scene. Formed in the early 1990’s in Germany, The Poets of Rhythm were their first band to authentically recreate the Funk sound for a modern audience. Their 1993 album “Practice What You Preach” is now, quite rightly, regarded as an all time classic. Their 2001 “Discern/Define” album on Ninja Tune took the funk in a new direction. Compilations from DJ Shadow and Daptone Records in recent years have followed. The Poets of Rhythm are back for ONE NIGHT ONLY.

**EUROPEAN EXCLUSIVE** – The Sugarman 3 were founded by Daptone Records co-owner Neal Sugarman as a Boogaloo/Soul Jazz combo back in the 1990’s along with Rudy Albin (Drums) and Adam Scone (Hammond B-3 Organ). The Sugarman 3 have worked with Charles Bradley, Lee Fields, Naomi Davis and Bernard “Pretty” Purdie.

**EUROPEAN EXCLUSIVE** – Will Sessions hail from Detroit and are arguably the best funk group in the world today. A slew of killer 45’s on the Funk Night record label with Billy Love, Rickey Calloway & Amp Fiddler have sent the funk/breaks world into overdrive with copies of some of these singles already selling for big money in the collectors world. Will Sessions have also collaborated with Mayer Hawthorne, Black Milk, Elzhi, Danny Brown and more.

The New Mastersounds are Eddie Roberts, Simon Allen, Pete Shand and Joe Tatton. Their debut album “Keb Darge presents” was released in 2001 and since then the band have released over 10 more albums and become a huge live draw all over the USA and Europe.

**UK EXCLUSIVE** – Orgōne fly in from Los Angeles, USA to play their debut UK show. Formed in 2001 from members of Breakestra, The Lions and Connie Price, Orgōne released albums on Ubiquity & Colemine Records, worked with The Pharcyde, Eddie Bo, Little Brother and released an afro-funk version of the Beginning of the End’s “Funky Nassau“.

**WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE** – Emil Carter from Mickey and the Soul Generation is flying in from Texas, USA to perform the music of arguably the definitive Deep Funk group. Emil Carter is the Vocalist/ Saxophonist with Mickey and the Soul Generationwho existed between 1969-1977. DJ Shadow released a compilation of their entire catalogue in 2004 including “Iron Leg, ” How Good is Good”. “Get Down Brother”, “Southern Fried Funk” and more. This will be Emil’s first ever show in the UK.

**EUROPEAN EXCLUSIVE** – Rickey Calloway is the self-proclaimed “King of Funk” who released his debut single “Tell Me” in 1970. After Kenny Dope re-mixed and re-issued the single in 2004 Rickey has joined forces with The Dap-Kings, Will Sessionsand The Soul Surfers to release singles on the Funk Night and Kay Dee labels. This will be Rickey’s first ever show in the UK.

**EUROPEAN EXCLUSIVE** – Renaldo Domino hails from Chicago and released a bunch of 45’s on the Twinight label including the Deep Funk monster “Let me Come Within” and the in-demand Sweet Soul tune “Not Too Cool to Cry“. Renaldo Domino is appearing in the UK for the first time ever.


Syl Johnson / Syl Johnson / Syl Johnson / Syl Johnson: Any Way The Wind Blows / The Poets of Rhythm / The Sugarman 3 / Daptone Records /Ninja Tune / Quannum / Will Sessions / Funk Night Records / Frank Raines / Breakestra / The New Mastersounds / Mickey and The Soul Generation / Mickey and The Soul Generation / Rickey Calloway/ ORGŌNE / Renaldo Domino / Speedometer /Snowboy / FUNKSHONE / Liam Bailey / DJ Format/ DJ Oneofakind / Ria Currie / The Getup U.K /Athens of the North / JazzCotech / Greg Belson /Dean Rudland / Anthony Sturgeon / Hot Damn!

AGMP presents HOOK & SLING

  • Categories →
  • July
Back to top